top of page

Tribute: Bongo I-an

"The reward for the job well done is not in the recognition of others, nor in public praise. Neither is it to be measured solely by the monetary return earned by the workman. It comes, rather, in the inner satisfaction that accompanies the knowledge that the work accomplished represents the best of which We are capable." - His Imperial Majesty, Emperor Haile Selassie

I Often, I would send you a message. You did not always answer right away, but it never bothered me. I know your hands were full with some sort of works, usually to help someone else. I also knew you would also “link” me whenever you were free; even if only to say that you would check me later. After I got the news, I still sent a message, watching the one tick over and over, hoping it would turn to two, and then blue. Hoping to get a call, hearing you laugh and say, “Boy Jahman, they had me fa gone this time, but you know how I go…”. We would laugh together as I confessed that “You got me too!” This would no doubt turn into one of our marathon reasonings initiated with some story you could tell me of someone this happened to long time ago. I would bask once again in your wide expanse of knowledge in many areas, as you broke down the science behind how this happened. It was as if I lived vicariously through those stories. That call never came… As the reality of what happened settled, a sense of void overwhelmed me, and moved me to tears. There was so much more… So much more knowledge to absorb. So many more projects. So many more conversations. We were just getting started. We talked often of converting your knowledge into a book, or two. You would always tell me we all had a book in us, in your normal humble manner. I delayed pursuing the book idea, thinking I had more time, much more time. “Strike while the iron is hot!” was your clarion call to motivate others into action. I should have taken that advice, was my thoughts, as I pondered the loss.

Our bond would be cemented over they years, but I remember 8 years ago, in October of 2012. It was under the cabana at T.A. Thompson. Your unwavering desire for the advancement of the Rastafari community, contributed to the creation of what would come to be known as House of Rastafari. Ensuring there was a common space for every facet of the trod locally, was very important to you. House of Rastafari still accepts all Rastafari perspectives as equal. This was not the first time you would be part of such of effort. There were several organizations and efforts through the years. And you were instrumental in many of them. This was your reputation. You were determined this time would have have a more lasting impact, building on the experience of those that came before, in the I-rits of complemntarity. It was only fitting, especially in hindsight, that you were elected as first, and only Chairman to date. That was certainly the best choice. The Council of Elders, ASFAW (African Sisters For All Women), and the organization would be nurtured by your tenaciousness. For a moment I was fortunate enough to work as your Co chairman where you coached me in lessons of patience and endurance. But even as many of us faded in frustration with a heavy burden, you stood the course. I could never fully walk away, nor do I think you would let me. AL though you needed the help you respected my decision to spend more time with my family. Your discipline was resolute. The community came to depend on you for this commitment, though not always appreciative of it. Someone who would see things through to the end. One of the few who could rise above the divisions, unaffected by ego and remain steadfast. Feeling sorry for myself I was stunned by what I would miss; the uplifting conversations; the view into history; reliability, reassurance! Who would now be that I-dren that had enough respect, in enough circles to make things happen? Who would be that calm voice of reason when others are bogged down in dogma and passion? Who would be that person you were sure would drop everything and help, just because the cause was Rastafari? “When Babylon look at I and I they don’t know nuttin bout no Bingi or Bobo! They just know Rasta. This is what I and I have to come to realize!” was yet another frequent statement of yours. But what about those who depended on you for this phenomenal generosity? Members of the community who would call your for assistance and receive it without anyone knowing. Who would touch your students in the way unique to you? Anyone who saw you in action at Ahkepran International Academy saw the love and care you gave to each student. They were not your only students though. Who would fill these shoes?

Then I remembered your words, “Jahman you just gatta pick yaself up and do the works!” Our stories sometimes covered the disappointments you faced over the years, often from those who you loved. Somehow you never let that dissuade you from your principles nor the goal. I always admired you for that. I would ask how you were able to do it. You would say, “Jahman you just gatta pick yaself up and do it!” Suddenly I realized! Who am I to feel sorry for myself and expect more from you, when you already gave all you had, and more? My mourning turned to motivation. I have a role to play! You never let me forget that. As you did with so many others. I was further encouraged when I recounted how many others had their cups filled by you. If we all played our part and valued the role of others, as you are known to do, nothing can stop I and I from achieving the goal. Sorrow had blinded me but now it was becoming clear! You had cultivated leaders and gave them access to elders of the community. You never discouraged anyone who wanted to contribute. You were instrumental in establishing a blueprint of short and long terms goals to target in the 10 Point Program. You constantly echoed these initiatives. Through your efforts over the years, doors have been opened for the community to reach the next stage of its development and beyond. All that is required is collective effort. What more could I and I ask for? It is not for me to ask more of you; but time to ask myself what more I can give. That is how I and I can truly honor you. I get the message, loud and clear!

I know you will be seated with the ancestors, smiling among I-drens and sistrens you have longed to see. The battle is far from over, but your leg of the mission is complete! You left it all on the field. I am equally grateful as I am confident you will continue to strengthen the works that honor His I-vine Majesty! I and I shall not the flag fall nor be desecrated! One Black Love I-dren! His Majesty speed on da I journey into higher realms! There is no goodbye in Rastafari! So until I and I meet again! Haile I Selassie I! –

Bongo I-an (Ean Maura)


Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page