top of page

Tribute to Priest Blyden- Honorable Priest Rado

Updated: Dec 31, 2020

A tribute to my mentor and my brethren Priest Philip Blyden.

On the morning of Nov.30, I received a text saying that Hon. Priest Blyden had fell and was unresponsive but the ambulance was arriving to take him away. My first thoughts where of a time at celebration, where the priest had fall out but after a few minutes he was right back up to his usual self. Then I got another text, "family sorry to say he didn't make it" . Wow my mentor and my brethren who has hugely shaped my view in the Boboshanti Rastafari movement had transitioned.

It is not that common at this stage of our life to have elders who shape our intellect, interest and life in general. But Priest Blyden did that. My next thoughts were the vast amount of knowledge Priest Blyden was filled with, like an over flowing river but I would never draw from that river of knowledge again. While we were brought together by the Churchical order of the Boboshanti it was his knowledge of the Statetical affairs that made Jah B stand out for me. He would also warn me about having a big ego and not to try seek the spotlight but just carry tru the work.

I hope that everyone when such people cross their paths, never take people like Jah B for granted. I certainly never did. "You carve your name on hearts, not tombstones. A legacy is etched into the mind of others and the stories they share about you." Thank you Hon.Priest Blyden for the precious memories, may they linger ever near me. And as you make that transition to the realm of our ancestors, I know that you will continue the fight, and in so doing you have left a void on this plain whereas we must now step up and continue to fight. We shall do it.

Jah Rastafari God is Love,

Let us all Love

Hon Priest Rado


Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page